60.4 F
Washington D.C.
Tuesday, September 26, 2023

GSA Announces Inaugural Acquisition Policy Advisory Committee Members

Earlier this year, GSA announced its intent to launch the Committee and received over 100 nominations in response.

The U.S. General Services Administration (GSA) announced at the GSA Acquisition Policy Federal Advisory Committee’s (GAP FAC) first public meeting the 28 inaugural members selected from a candidate field of more than 100 highly experienced and knowledgeable experts to serve as its advisors. The GAP FAC will advise the GSA Administrator on emerging acquisition issues, challenges, and opportunities to support its role as America’s buyer.

“I can’t think of a better way to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Federal Advisory Committee Act than by launching this advisory committee, which will help guide acquisition policy of the world’s largest buyer, the U.S. government,” said GSA Administrator Robin Carnahan in her welcoming remarks to the new members. “GSA plays a leading role, through our Federal Acquisition Service. It’s our responsibility to bring together top experts from around the country with practical, on-the-ground experience to help generate ideas for how we can improve the way government buys things and leverage the government’s buying power to advance important policy goals.”

The Committee charged itself with an initial focus on driving regulatory, policy, and process changes to embed climate and sustainability considerations in federal acquisition. This includes recommending steps GSA can take to support its workforce and industry partners in ensuring climate and sustainability issues are fully considered in the acquisition process.

“We are grateful that these highly experienced and knowledgeable experts have agreed to volunteer their time and talents to help us,” said Office of Government-wide Policy Associate Administrator Krystal J. Brumfield, who also serves as the agency’s Chief Acquisition Officer. “I look forward to their recommendations for acquisition policy that advance GSA’s mission as America’s buyer, an acquisition workforce that is ready for the future, and a domestic supplier base incentivized to supply innovative offerings to the federal government.”

The Committee members and their organizational affiliations are:

Committee Membership Member Organization
Chairperson Troy Cribb Partnership for Public Service
Co-Chairperson Cassius Butts Global Leader Group
Federal Jennie Romer Environmental Protection Agency
Antonio Doss Small Business Administration
Non-Federal Richard Beutel George Mason University
Nigel Stephens Phoenix Strategies, Inc.
Luke Bassis Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
David Malone City of St. Petersburg, FL
Mark Hayden State of New Mexico
Stacy Smedley Building Transparency
Dr. David Wagger Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries
Anish Tilak Rocky Mountain Institute
Dr. Kimberly Wise White American Chemistry Council
C. Gail Bassette Bowie State University
Nicole Darnall Arizona State University
Steven Schooner George Washington University
Amlan Mukherjee Michigan Technological University
Farad Ali Asociar LLC
Mamie Mallory Mallory & Associates LLC
Anne Rung Varis LLC
Keith Tillage Tillage Construction LLC
Clyde Thompson GovStrive LLC
Deryl Mckissack Mckissack & Mckissack
Darryl Daniels Jacobsen Daniels Assoc.
Susan Lorenz-Fisher AmerisourceBergen Corporation
Kristin Seaver General Dynamics Information Technology
Leslie Cordes Ceres
Denise Bailey Milligan Consulting, LLC


Earlier this year, GSA announced its intent to launch the Committee and received over 100 nominations in response. GSA’s Office of Government-wide Policy vetted the candidates and built the esteemed Committee whose members include representatives from industry, including small businesses; federal, state, and local governments; industry associations; and academia.

The GAP FAC will operate in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). Consistent with FACA and its requirements, each meeting of the GAP FAC will be open to the public unless otherwise notified, in accordance with the Government in the Sunshine Act, and those meetings will be fully accessible to individuals with disabilities.

Read more at GSA

Homeland Security Todayhttp://www.hstoday.us
The Government Technology & Services Coalition's Homeland Security Today (HSToday) is the premier news and information resource for the homeland security community, dedicated to elevating the discussions and insights that can support a safe and secure nation. A non-profit magazine and media platform, HSToday provides readers with the whole story, placing facts and comments in context to inform debate and drive realistic solutions to some of the nation’s most vexing security challenges.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles