46.6 F
Washington D.C.
Sunday, November 27, 2022

House Passes 9/11 Victim Compensation Fund Renewal 402-12; Senate Up Next

The House of Representatives voted 402-12 today to pass the Never Forget the Heroes: James Zadroga, Ray Pfeifer, and Luis Alvarez Permanent Authorization of the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund Act, sending it to the upper chamber where Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) is under pressure from first responders and advocates to hold a vote soon.

The members to vote against the reauthorization were Republicans Jodey Arrington (Texas), Andy Biggs (Ariz.), Mo Brooks (Ala.), Ken Buck (Colo.), Michael Cloud (Texas), Paul Gosar (Ariz.), Andy Harris (Md.), Jody Hice (Ga.), Thomas Massie (Ky.), Ralph Norman (S.C.), John Rose (Tenn.), and Independent Justin Amash (Mich.).

The bill extends the fund, which was set to expire next year, through 2090. Lead co-sponsors of the bill in the upper chamber, Sens. Cory Gardner (R-Colo.) and Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), called for a vote as soon as possible.

“The first responders who rushed into danger on September 11th, 2001, are the very definition of American heroes and patriots,” McConnell said in a statement. “The Senate has never forgotten the Victim Compensation Fund and we aren’t about to start now. Nothing about our shared goal to provide for these heroes is remotely partisan. We will consider this important legislation soon.”

Homeland Security Todayhttp://www.hstoday.us
The Government Technology & Services Coalition's Homeland Security Today (HSToday) is the premier news and information resource for the homeland security community, dedicated to elevating the discussions and insights that can support a safe and secure nation. A non-profit magazine and media platform, HSToday provides readers with the whole story, placing facts and comments in context to inform debate and drive realistic solutions to some of the nation’s most vexing security challenges.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles